Magical, Heartbreaking, but Wonderful: Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

Cool Post

unlikely librarian

I shouldn’t have doubted that I would like something else by Gaiman. Stardust is so amazing, I don’t think anything else he has written can be bad (although I haven’t read anything else so don’t hold me to it!). Ocean at the End of the Lane wasn’t as spectacular as Stardust for me, probably because it took place in our world, but it was still an awesome read. It was creepy (not enough to give me nightmares though!) but with sentimentality and with passages I enjoyed reading over a couple times because they were written so well or just struck a chord with me.

I liked myths. They weren’t adult stories and they weren’t children’s stories. They were better than that. They just were.

The characters in this story are wonderful. The main character, a young boy, narrates for us and we see events unfold through his eyes, which at…

View original post 135 more words

